Last updated: July 15. 2014 11:22AM - 1539 Views
By - bshiles@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

LUMBERTON — Voters in District 2 are going to the polls today to elect their representative on the Robeson County Board of Commissioners.

The Democratic primary run-off election pits incumbent Hubert Sealey against Berlester Campbell, a former county commissioner. The commissioner race is the only contest on the ballot.

Since there is no Republican run-off, no registered Republicans can participate in this election. The winner of today’s election will not be opposed in the November General Election.

Any properly registered Democrat residing in District 2 can vote in the election even if that person did not vote in the Democratic primary on May 6. Any registered unaffiliated voter who voted Democrat in the May 6 primary can also participate.

During the early voting period that ran from July 3 to Saturday, 331 voters cast ballots. According to the Robeson County Board of Elections, 9,793 voters are eligible to vote in the run-off.

Sealey, from Fairmont, has served as a commissioner since 2002. He was formerly employed by the N.C. Highway Patrol.

Campbell is also from Fairmont. He is the county commissioner Sealey defeated to become the District 2 representative on the county board.

Sealey, who finished second behind Campbell in the six-way Democratic Primary race on May 6, requested today’s run-off. None of the candidates on May 6 received the 40 percent of total votes cast needed to avoid a run-off.

Polls opened today at 6:30 a.m. and close at7:30 p.m. Ballots may be cast at the following precinct polling sites: Alfordsville, Vans Fire Department, 340 Elrod Road, Maxton; Back Swamp, Southern Spirit Tribal Building, 1872 Back Swamp Road, Lumberton; Fairmont, Fire Hall (senior center) 421 S. Main St., Fairmont; Gaddys, Gaddy’s Community Building, 2034 Ward Stone Road, Fairmont; Orrum, Proctorville Community Building, 106 S. Pine St., Proctorville; Rowland, Rowland Municipal Building, 206 W. Main St., Rowland; Smyrna, Smyrna Fire Department, 2910 Wire Grass Road, Lumberton; — Sterlings, Sterlings Fire Department, 7049 S. Creek Road, Orrum; Thompson, McDonaldMunicipal Building, 4534 E. McDonald Road, Fairmont; Union, Union Elementary School, N.C. 710 South. Rowland; and Whitehouse, Marietta Mun icipal Building, 279 Marietta Road, Fairmont

comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lumberton Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com