Last updated: September 02. 2014 10:12AM - 334 Views
By - switten@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

LAURINBURG — If St. Pauls has poetry’s next Robert Frost or Gwendolyn Brooks, officials at St. Andrews University want to know about it.

The Laurinburg-based college is looking for entries for its 2014-2015 Gilbert-Chappell Distinguished Poets Series.

Created by the North Carolina Poetry Society, the program provides promising poets at the middle school, high school, college/university and adult levels the opportunity to work with SUA’s Distinguished Poet Lynn Veach Sadler.

According to university spokesman Melissa C. Hopkins, students selected to take part in the program will meet with Sadler to discuss the work, and will then read selected poems at one local venue and also at the Central Regional Reading, hosted by St. Andrews University in Laurinburg.

Eligible students must live in the Central Region that includes Robeson, Alamance, Cumberland, Durham, Lee, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Richmond, Scotland and Union counties, Hopkins said.

To enter the Gilbert-Chappell Distinguished Poets Series, each student must submit an application form; a personal statement; representative poetry; and an instructor’s recommendation. All information about the program and the application is available online at http://www.gilbertchappelldistinguishedpoetseries.com/.

The deadline for entry is Oct. 31.

Material can be submitted electronically to Dr. Ted Wojtasik at wojtasik@sapc.edu or mailed to Dr. Ted Wojtasik, Gilbert-Chappell Distinguished Poets Series, St. Andrews University, 1700 Dogwood Mile, Laurinburg, N.C. 28352.

The Gilbert-Chappell Distinguished Poets Series originated in 2003 upon the advice of then North Carolina Poet Laureate Fred Chappell.

Sadler is in her second year as the Distinguished Poet in the central region. A former college president, she has published widely in both academic and creative writing publications. Her work has earned such honors as the Pittsburgh Quarterly Hay Prize, the Poetry Society of America’s Hemley Award, Asphodel’s Poetry Contest and Kalliope’s Elkind Contest. She has published several chapbooks and had one story included in Del Sol’s Best of 2004 Butler Prize Anthology.

Sadler was named the 2007 Writer of the Year by California’s elizaPress. She won the 2009 overall award of the San Diego City College National Writer’s Contest and City Works Journal.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lumberton Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com