Last updated: December 10. 2013 10:56PM - 2354 Views
Brad Crawford Staff writer

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

FAIRMONT — The Three Rivers Conference has revealed its fall sports all-league squads and as usual, Robeson County is well represented.

Headlining the area’s top individual honors was Jonathan Baldazo, the league’s boys soccer player of the year, boys cross country runner of the year Billy Jones and coach of the year Brian Grice, both from South Robeson.

All-Conference selections are based on self-nominations from league coaches. There is a limit on the number of players chosen based on order of finish and league champions are automatically chosen as coaches of the year.

Individual awards are determined by a league-wide vote.

In football, Whiteville’s Luke Little and Jake Fonvielle from South Columbus shared top coach honors after tying for the title as conference newcomers. County coach of the year Stephen Roberson helped South Robeson to its first playoff wins in 11 seasons but wasn’t eligible based on conference rules.

County player of the year Jarrod Neal, who tallied the second-most touchdowns in area history with 51, was one of 10 Fairmont all-conference players. St. Pauls also had 10, led by area offensive player of the year Malik Livingston, Red Springs nine and South Robeson nine.

Neal led the Three Rivers in total yards and touchdowns.

Red Springs quarterback Blake Greene was a first-team selection for the fourth consecutive season. He finished his prep career as the state’s third-leading touchdown producer in history with 151 scores, behind only Independence’s Chris Leak and Albemarle’s T.A. McLendon.

Reggie Frink, the league’s interceptions leader at cornerback for South Columbus, was named defensive player of the year. Whiteville running back Terrin Manning earned top offensive honors.

The Southeastern Conference all-league squad will be released after the 4A state championship game Saturday featuring Scotland and Greensboro Dudley.

Full Three Rivers All-Conference teams from cross country, football, volleyball and boys soccer can be viewed online.

Reach staff writer Brad Crawford at bcrawford@civitasmedia.com or follow him on Twitter @MrPalmettoSDS.


Boys cross country

Billy Jones, South Robeson

CJ Locklear, South Robeson

Austin Hunt, South Robeson

Randy Oxendine, South Robeson

Brandon Hunt, South Robeson

Malilk Milton, Fairmont

Julian Massey, Fairmont

Jamison Locklear, Fairmont

Zack Moore, Whitevile

Keelan McPhaul, Red Springs

Runner of the Year — Billy Jones (South Robeson)

Coach of the Year —Brian Grice (South Robeson)

Girls cross country

Madison Creech, Whiteville

Ivey Long, Whiteville

Marilu Castrejon, Whiteville

Margaret High, Whiteville

Zoey Barton, Whiteville

Grace Morningstar, Whiteville

Daisy Valquez, Red Springs

Rocia Penia, Red Springs

Shania Leach, Red Springs

Chantara Chavis, South Robeson

Runner of the Year — Madison Creech (Whiteville)

Coach of the Year — Will Dorn ( Whiteville)


South Columbus: 1st Team — Hannah Lee, Miranda Harris, Brittany Sellers; Honorable Mention — Allison Edwards, Katie Evans, Bailey Dyson, Lindsey Jones

Fairmont: 1st Team — Christa Thorndyke, Niya Dickens; Honorable Mention — Reva Locklear, Marsha Clewis, Khadijah Thompson

Whiteville: 1st Team — Shelby Jecius, Shae Cokley; Honorable Mention — Geena White, Malerie Leviner, Sage Mclelland

South Robeson: 1st Team — Savanna Hunt, Illiyah White-Bennett; Honorable Mention — Jaquel Stackhouse, Rachel Harris, Haeli Chavis

East Columbus: 1st Team — Olivia Kissam, Morgan McKeithan

St. Pauls: 1st Team — Kristen Locklear; Honorable Mention — Coronda Glover, Audrey McKinnon

Red Springs: 1st Team — Robyn McPhaul; Honorable Mention — Victoria Hammonds, Kelsey Locklear

West Columbus: 1st Team — Alexandra Barnhill; Honorable Mention— Princess Flowers

Coach of the Year — David Marlowe, South Columbus

Player of the Year — Hannah Lee, South Columbus


South Columbus — Dashaun Daniels; Kalil Soles; Perry Keene; Ryan Armstrong Samuel Dixon, Jr.; Wade Floyd; Gage McPherson; Preston Worley; Reid Worley; Andrew Register; Quinlan Hammond; Matt Miller; Rashaad Chatman; Cephus McGill; Justin Dudley

Whiteville — Aljere Adams; Spencer Campbell; Adam Bastug; Antonio Powell; Zach Wilson; Taj Powell; Dylan Williams; Tasean Shipman; Tyqwann McDougal; Antonio Faulk; Garrett Wilson; Austin Reaves; Bradley Merritt; Nic Ciamillo; Gerardo Maggioli; Nate Powell

St. Pauls — Shayron Jones; Daquan Blue; Malik Livingston; Xavier Downing; Chuck Walters; Javon Crawford; Daymien McMillan; Michael Freeman; Tim Billinger; Alex Jones

Fairmont — Jarrod Neal; Ethan Baldwin; DeShawn Fields; Quenton Walker; Shemar Barfield; Shyheim Hines; Naim Bellamy; Kashawn Leonard; Zach Gibson; Damian Ransom; Silas Oxendine

South Robeson — Juan Ellerbe; Corbin Hunt; Andrew Hill; Angelo Brown; Michael Smith; Adam Miller; Tyler Roller; T.J. Smith; Darius Munley

Red Springs — Blake Greene; Terry Collins; CJ McGeachy; Jamison Baker; Markeiss Blue; Jalik Woods; Deandre Hallman; Eric Graham; Dwayne Fairley

East Columbus — Nick M

cClure; Jaech Austin; Carlos Campbell; Khydeim Robinson; Ryan Howard; Greg Melvin; Elijah Gresham; Jalen Dumas; Tavon Pierce

West Columbus — Kalyk Banks; Rolston Bromell; Adrian Buie; Tommy Bryant; Tanner Daniels; Anthony Davis

Coach of the Year — Jake Fonvielle (South Columbus); Luke Little (Whiteville)

Offensive Player of the Year — Terrin Manning (Whiteville)

Defensive Player of the Year — Reggie Frink (South Columbus)

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lumberton Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com