FRINGE: Fairmont holds annual Festival tournament

First Posted: 10/19/2013

Fairmont Golf Club held the sixth annual Farmers Festival Golf Tournament on Saturday, sponsored by the Fairmont Chamber of Commerce. The tournament kicked off the town’s annual festival and left plenty of prize winners.

Bradley Hamilton, Kirk Hamilton, David Sessions and Aaron Mayor won the top prize, finishing first in the first flight. David Rogers, Trey Martin, Jimmy Stone and Jeff Holtom took second and Tom Lee, Robert Lawson, Mark Smith, and Randy Graham took third.

Matthew Phillips, Jamie Phillips, Patrick Meadows and Chris Adams were named the flight’s most creative.

Harold Johnson, J. Powell, M. Ratley and M. Smith won the second flight. Bill Link, Carey Pittman, Joey Mitchell and Rick Smith took second and Percy Hill, Buster Jackson, Melvin Rogers and Darrell McKiever took third.

Sean Locklear, Chris Boshore, Mashall Eckel and a second Boshore won most creative.

Closest to the pin winners were David Session on No. 5, Rob Conway on No. 8, Joey Mitchell on No. 13 and Jamie Phillips on No. 15.

The Jason Hunt tournament will be played on Nov. 2. The four-person captain’s choice tees off with a 9 a.m. shotgun start. For information, call Kenny Hunt at 910-536-3266.

Missionary Fried will be holding a four-person captain’s choice tournament at 9 a.m. on Nov. 23. For information, call Dalma Cribb at 910-234-0682.

Monday’s Old Hackers winners were Bill Link, Bob Barnhill, Carl Atkinnson, Dennis Moore and Wil Jones.

Scothurst GC

Mike Mueller had the best round of his life on Friday, scoring a 1-over-par 73.

The Hope Mills resident birdied the first three holes to go 1-under at the turn and birded Nos. 12 and 14 on the final nine. He played the round with Bob Young, Bill Jackson and Donald Oxendine.

Cliffwood GC

Cliffwood will be holding a tournament the day after Thanksgiving. The Turkey Shootout, a two-man captain’s choice tournament, will tee off at noon with a shotgun start.

Send your golf news to Sports Editor Scott Schlaufman at 910-272-6111 or at The deadline is Thursday at 5 p.m. for that Sunday’s publication.