Lumbees head to polls to elect 3

First Posted: 11/18/2014

PEMBROKE — Members in three of the Lumbee Tribe of North Carolina’s 14 voting districts head to the polls today to elect three members to the tribe’s 21-member Tribal Council.

Polls in the three districts are open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Election officials are expecting a low voter turnout because there is no election this year for tribal chairman. Four of the seven seats are uncontested.

The contested seats are District 6, Raft Swamp and North Pembroke, currently represented by McDuffie Cummings; District 7, South Pembroke and Union, currently represented by Terry Campbell; and District 12, Scotland County, Maxton and Alfordsville, currently represented by Walter Lowery.

In District 6, the candidates are McDuffie Cummings and Douglas Locklear Jr.; District 7, Bill James Brewington, Pamela Graham Derensis and Anthony D. Miller; and District 12, Walter Lowery and Shelley Strickland.

There are some polling site changes. In District 7, voters will cast their ballots at the Boys and Girls Club in Pembroke rather than at the Pembroke Middle School. A polling site for District 7 will also be open at Union Elementary School.

In District 12, voting will no longer be held at the Stewartsville Volunteer Fire Department in Laurinburg. Instead voters will cast their ballots at the Lumbee Heritage Elders Building, also located in Laurinburg.

Also in District 12, voters will vote at the Family Resource Center in Maxton rather than the Queheel Volunteer Fire Department in Maxton. A third polling site for District 12 will be open at the Evans Crossroads Volunteer Fire Department.

Polling sites will remain the same in District 6. They are located will be located at the O.P. Owens Agricultural Extension office in Lumberton and the Indian Education Resource Center in Pembroke.

The four candidates winning seats in uncontested races are incumbent Terry Hunt, District 2, Back Swamp, Fairmont and Smyrna; incumbent Lesaundri Hunt, Lumberton, West Howellsville and Clybourn Pines; Jarrod M. Lowery, District 5, Oxendine and Prospect; and Frank James Cooper, District 11, Hoke County.

All terms are for three years.