Plan for 2018 Book’Em are underway

By p.m.terrell - Contributing columnist
- -

As we head toward the end of 2017, plans are already well underway for the 2018 Book ‘Em North Carolina Writers Conference and Book Fair.

The date has been set for Sept. 22 at Robeson Community College.

A trilogy of bestselling authors have agreed to headline the event. Jeff Mudgett is the author of the New York Times bestseller Bloodstains, an intriguing story about his own ancestor, serial killer Dr. H. H. Holmes. Mudgett’s journey began as research into his ancestry, something he never thought would lead him to the man known as both the Monster and Master of Chicago’s Murder Castle who found his victims during the Chicago World’s Fair and lured them to his home, where they were never to emerge. As Mudgett delved deeper into the sinister—even evil—doings of Dr. Holmes, he became convinced that Holmes was, in fact, Jack the Ripper. His research took him around the world, following a trail of victims that reached into the hundreds and led to the History Channel documentary series, American Ripper. The story of H. H. Holmes is also soon to be a major motion picture starring Leonardo DiCaprio as America’s first serial killer in The Devil in the White City based on the book by Erik Larson.

Mudgett will be joined by another bestselling author, Jonas Saul, the author of more than 30 novels with more than two million books sold. He has also written more than 50 short stories. Saul has consistently outranked Stephen King and Dean Koontz on Amazon’s top 100 Most Popular Authors list in both the thriller and horror categories. Two of his series have been optioned for television series and major movies, including his bestselling Sarah Roberts Series and his Jake Wood Series. Saul’s appearance will mark the first time a Book ‘Em North Carolina author has traveled from Canada to headline. He travels the world scouting locations for his books, including living in Greece, Italy, Hungary and Denmark for five years before temporarily settling in Kelowna, British Columbia, a location also featured in two of his books. He will soon return to Europe. His next thriller, The Immortal Gene, will be released worldwide in 2018—with Book ‘Em North Carolina as one of his first stops.

The third headliner is Elizabeth Massie, the two-time winner of the Bram Stoker Award, awarded by the Horror Writer’s Association for Superior Achievement. The awards were given for her novel Sineater and her novelette “Stephen”. She also won the Scribe Award from the International Association of Media Tie-In Writers for her novelization of the Showtime original television series, The Tudors. Her most recent works include the short fiction collection, It, Watching as well as stories in Christmas Horror, Vol.2 and Fantastic Tales, and an essay in Where Nightmares Come From. The House at Wyndham Strand, Massie’s new young adult historical horror novel, is scheduled to be out in late 2018—hopefully, just in time for Book ‘Em. Elizabeth lives in the Shenandoah Valley and also participated in many of the Book ‘Em Virginia events held in Waynesboro, Virginia.

If you are an author wishing to participate in the 2018 Book ‘Em North Carolina event, you can register online now at One important change has been made since transitioning the event to Robeson Community College under the leadership of Crystal Edmonds: in past years, authors did not pay for tables but instead donated 40 percent of their sales to Book ‘Em, which was distributed among Robeson County non-profits for the purpose of improving literacy. Beginning with the 2017 event, authors are charged $50 for a half table or $100 for a full table and they keep 100 percent of their proceeds instead of donating a portion to Book ‘Em.

The table rentals raises funding that will be distributed among the non-profits. The event is also seeking sponsorships that will be used to advertise well beyond Robeson County’s borders. For more information, visit or email Crystal Edmonds at [email protected]

p.m.terrell is the founder of the Book ‘Em North Carolina Writers Conference and Book Fair and the co-founder of The Book ‘Em Foundation. She is also the internationally acclaimed author of more than 21 books, including two award-winning series set in Lumberton, Black Swamp Mysteries and the Ryan O’Clery Mystery Series. For more information, visit

By p.m.terrell

Contributing columnist

p.m.terrell is the internationally acclaimed, award-winning author of more than 20 books, including two series set in Lumberton. For information about Book ‘Em, visit For information about terrell, visit

p.m.terrell is the internationally acclaimed, award-winning author of more than 20 books, including two series set in Lumberton. For information about Book ‘Em, visit For information about terrell, visit