LREMC elections are Thursday

By: Staff Report

RED SPRINGS — Six people will be elected to the board of directors of the Lumbee River Electric Membership Corporation during its annual meeting Thursday.

The meeting will be held at The University of North Carolina at Pembroke’s Givens Performing Arts Center. Registration begins at 1 p.m. at the University Center Annex. Entertainment begins at 6 p.m. and the general business meeting begins at 7:30 p.m.

The board candidates are: Herbert Clark and Autry Lowry running for one seat in District 1; Ronald G. Hammonds and Ronnie E. Hunt competing for one District 3 seat; Christopher Clark, Spencer Locklear and Lennis Watts vying for one open seat in District 5; Jacqueline Hunt Chavis, William Hollingsworth, Larry Jones and Carl A. Pevia running to fill two three-year-term seats in District 6; and James Hardin is the candidate in District 6 running to fill an unexpired two-year term.

The meeting also will include an update on important cooperative business.

Registered members will receive a registration gift and their names will be entered into a drawing for dozens of door prizes. There will be two grand prizes: a $2,000 power bill credit and a $1,000 power bill credit.

For information, call 910-843-4131.

Staff Report