15 seek seven seats on Tribal Council

By: Staff Report

PEMBROKE — Members of the Lumbee Tribe go to the polls on Tuesday to elect seven representatives to the Tribal Council.

The polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

The District 3 polling site in West Lumberton has been changed to the National Guard Armory on Fayetteville Road in Lumberton, according to Sheila Beck, chairman of the tribe’s Board of Elections. That is because of lingering damage from Hurricane Matthew.

The other District 3 sites are Soaring Eagle Community Building, 442 Norment Road in Lumberton; Barker Ten Mile Community Building, 4823 Barker Ten Mile Road in Lumberton; and Lumberton National Guard Armory, 4502 Fayetteville Road in Lumberton. The candidates are James B. Hunt and Pearlean Revels.

District 2 polling sites are Heritage Haven Apartments, 2268 Marion Stage Road in Fairmont; Smyrna Fire Department, 2910 Wire Grass Road in Lumberton; and Southern Spirit Community Center, 1872 Back Swamp Road in Lumberton. The candidates are Sharon Hunt and Lamari L. Mitchell.

The District 6 sites are Morgan Britt Apartment Office, 100 Oxendine Circle in Lumberton, and Indian Education Resource Center, 818 W. Third St. in Pembroke. The candidates are Scott Bell and incumbent Douglas Locklear.

The District 7 sites are Pembroke Boys and Girls Club Gym, 120 Youth Drive in Pembroke, and Union Elementary School, 2457 N.C. 710 South in Rowland. The candidates are William T. Campbell, Alvin J. Mercer and Valerie Strickland.

The District 11 sites are Hawkeye Sands Apartments, 5385 Red Springs Road in Red Springs, and Hawkeye Boys and Girls Club, 3066 Blue Springs Road in Red Springs. The candidates are incumbent Frank J. Cooper and Carl A. Pevia.

The District 12 sites are Lumbee Heritage Elders Court, 16220 Lumbee Heritage Lane in Lauringburg; Queheel Fire Department, 108 E. Rockingham Road in Maxton; and Evans Crossroad Fire Department, 3440 Elrod Road in Maxton. The candidates are Michael W. Chavis II, Victoria Henderson and incumbent Shelley Strickland.

Jarrod Lowery, the District 5 incumbent, is unopposed.

Staff Report