All-ACC football teams

By: Staff Report

North Carolina’s “Big Four” Atlantic Coast Conference schools combined to place 21 players on this year’s all-ACC football teams.

Wake Forest led the way with eight players selected across the three all-league squads, followed by N.C. State with seven, Duke with five and UNC with one representative.

The Wolfpack had three players named to the first team by a panel featuring the league’s head coaches and 45 media members.

Running back Nyheim Hines, the league’s leader with 1,774 all-purpose yards, rounded out the first-team backfield and earned a spot as a third-team specialist.

Jaylen Samuels was named to the first-team for his work as an all-purpose back after tallying more than 1,100 total yards with 15 touchdowns. Defensive end Bradley Chubb rounded out the Wolfpack’s first-team selections.

Chubb finished with a league-high 10 sacks and 26 tackles for loss this season.

The Blue Devils had two first-team selections in cornerback Mark Gilbert — a Fayetteville native — and linebacker Joe Giles-Harris. Gilbert has logged 31 tackles, two tackles for loss, six interceptions and 13 pass breakups this season. Giles-Harris leads the Blue Devils with 117 tackles and 15 tackles for loss.

UNC and Wake Forest each had one player on the first team. Tight end Cam Serigne, who has 35 catches, 444 yards and eight touchdowns this season, represented the Demon Deacons.

Kick returner Anthony Ratliff-Williams earned a first-team nod as a kick returner and third-team selection as an all-purpose back. He currently leads the nation with 895 kickoff return yards.

Wake Forest landed four players on the second team offense including quarterback John Wolford, center Ryan Anderson, placekicker Mike Weaver and all-purpose back Greg Dortch.

Defensive end Duke Ejiofor was a second team defense selection, while offensive linemen Justin Herron and Phil Haynes were third team offense picks.

Wide receiver Kelvin Harmon, along with offensive linemen Will Richardson and Tony Adams earned second-team nods for N.C. State. Quarterback Ryan Finley earned a third-team selection.

For the Blue Devils, center Austin Davis, safety Jeremy McDuffie and defensive tackle Mike Ramsay each received third team all-league honors.

Fayetteville native Harold Landry, a defensive end for Boston College, also earned a third team selection.

Clemson and Miami, which meet in Saturday’s ACC Championship in Charlotte, combined to place 23 players on the all-league teams.

The Tigers placed a total of 13 players on the first, second and third teams. The Hurricanes had 10 total players chosen.

Reigning Heisman Trophy winner Lamar Jackson of Louisville joined Boston College freshman running back AJ Dillon as co-leaders in the voting.
Wake Forest leads the way for in-state squads

Staff Report

2017 All-ACC Football Teams

First Team Offense

WR —Steve Ishmael, Sr. Syracuse

WR — Cam Phillips, Sr., Virginia Tech

WR — Jaylen Smith, Jr., Louisville

TE — Cam Serigne, Sr., Wake Forest

OT — Mitch Hyatt, Jr., Clemson

OT — Brian O’Neill, Jr., Pittsburgh

OG — Tyrone Crowder, Sr., Clemson

OG — Wyatt Teller, Sr., Virginia Tech

C — Justin Falcinelli, Jr., Clemson

QB — Lamar Jackson, Jr., Louisville

RB — A.J. Dillon, Fr., Boston College

RB — Nyheim Hines, Jr., NC State

AP — Jaylen Samuels, Sr., NC State

PK — Michael Badgley, Sr., Miami

SP — Anthony Ratliff-Williams, So., North Carolina

First Team Defense

DE — Bradley Chubb, Sr., NC State

DE — Clelin Ferrell, So., Clemson

DT — Christian Wilkins, Jr., Clemson

DT — Dexter Lawrence, So., Clemson

LB — Micah Kiser, Sr., Virginia

LB — Tremaine Edmunds, Jr., Virginia Tech

CB — Mark Gilbert, So., Duke

CB — Greg Stroman, Sr., Virginia Tech

S — Quin Blanding, Sr., Virginia

S — Derwin James, So., Florida State

P — Ryan Winslow, Sr., Pittsburgh

Second Team Offense

WR – Kelvin Harmon, So., NC State

WR – Olamide Zaccheaus, Jr., Virginia

WR – Ervin Philips, Sr., Syracuse

TE – Christopher Herndon IV, Sr., Miami

OT – Will Richardson, Jr., NC State

OT – Chris Lindstrom, Jr., Boston College

OG – Tony Adams, Sr., NC State

OG – Parker Braun, So., Georgia Tech

C – Ryan Anderson, Jr., Wake Forest

C – Alec Eberle, Jr., Florida State

QB – John Wolford, Sr., Wake Forest

RB – KirVonte Benson, So., Georgia Tech

RB – Travis Homer, So., Miami

AP – Greg Dortch, Fr., Wake Forest

PK – Mike Weaver, Sr., Wake Forest

SP – Quadree Henderson, Jr., Pittsburgh

Second Team Defense

DE – Austin Bryant, Jr., Clemson

DE – Duke Ejiofor, Sr., Wake Forest

DT – Tim Settle, So., Virginia Tech

DT – RJ McIntosh, Jr., Miami

LB – Dorian O’Daniel, Sr., Clemson

LB – Shaquille Quarterman, So., Miami

LB – Parris Bennett, Sr., Syracuse

CB – Michael Jackson, Jr., Miami

CB – Tarvarus McFadden, Jr., Florida State

S – Jaquan Johnson, Jr., Miami

S – Lukas Denis, Jr., Boston College

P – Lester Coleman, Jr., Virginia

Third Team Offense

WR – Braxton Berrios, Sr., Miami

WR – Hunter Renfrow, Jr., Clemson

WR – Deon Cain, Jr., Clemson

TE – Tommy Sweeney, Jr., Boston College

OT – Kc McDermott, Sr., Miami

OT – Justin Herron, Jr., Wake Forest

OG – Taylor Hearn, Jr., Clemson

OG – Phil Haynes, Jr., Wake Forest

C – Austin Davis, Sr., Duke

QB – Ryan Finley, Jr., NC State

RB – Travis Etienne, Fr., Clemson

RB – Cam Akers, Fr., Florida State

AP – Anthony Ratliff-Williams, So., North Carolina

PK – Cole Murphy, Sr., Syracuse

SP – Nyheim Hines, Jr., NC State

SP – Michael Walker, Jr., Boston College

Third Team Defense

DE – Harold Landry, Sr., Boston College

DE – Trent Harris, Sr., Miami

DT – Derrick Nnadi, Sr., Florida State

DT – Mike Ramsay, Sr., Duke

LB – Kendall Joseph, Jr., Clemson

LB – Ty Schwab, Sr., Boston College

LB – Andrew Motuapuaka, Sr., Virginia Tech

CB – Avonte Maddox, Sr., Pittsburgh

CB – Juan Thornhill, Jr., Virginia

S – Terrell Edmunds, Jr., Virginia Tech

S – Jeremy McDuffie, Jr., Duke

P – Pressley Harvin III, Fr., Georgia Tech