Eight county players named to all-Sandhills Athletic Conference softball team

Staff report
JaiLeana Deese -
Barton -
Strickland -
Canady - -
Nobles - -
West - -
Maynor - -
Hunt - -

LUMBERTON — The Sandhills Athletic Conference announced its all-conference softball team Sunday night as the season concluded with Jack Britt winning the 4A state championship on Sunday. Eight players from Robeson County were named to the team.

Purnell Swett and Lumberton both sent four players, after the Lady Rams claimed third in the conference and the Lady Pirates fourth. Both teams advanced to the second round of the state playoffs.

For Purnell Swett, JaiLeana Deese, Madison Strickland, Kaitlyn Hunt and Magan Barton were named, while Madison Canady, Kasey West, LeeAnn Nobles and Erin Maynor were picked from Lumberton.

Deese, the Robeson County Slugfest MVP and county Pitcher of the Year, saw a boost in production in the circle with a 13-5 record that included 95 strikeouts in nearly 110 innings. She also hit .406. Strickland led the Lady Rams with a .449 batting average, 26 RBIs and four homers on the year. Hunt was second on the team in batting average (.420) and RBIs (23), and also had 11 extra-base hits. Barton batted .371 with 15 RBIs.

The nod makes three straight all-conference recognitions for Deese and Hunt, and the second for Barton.

Along with being named the county’s Player of the Year for the third time, Canady was also earned all-conference honors for the third time, after posting the fifth-best batting average in the league at .477 with 42 RBIs and 10 home runs. West and Nobles each earned their second straight trip to the all-conference team. Nobles was second on the team with seven homers and 31 RBIs, while West batted .437 with 21 RBIs. Maynor knocked in 27 RBIs to go with her .420 average.

Richmond, the conference champions, was the most represented as Greyson Way earned Player of the Year. The Lady Raiders sent five players to the all-conference team, Way, Owen Bowers, Savannah Lampley, Briana Baysek and Paige Ransom.

Sebrina Wilson from Jack Britt was named the Coach of the Year.

JaiLeana Deese
https://www.robesonian.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/web1_IMG_5907_ne2018523154437870-2.jpgJaiLeana Deese








Staff report