Six county players named all-Three Rivers Conference in baseball, Whiteville sweeps awards

By: Staff report

WHITEVILLE — The Three Rivers Conference baseball all-conference team was announced by the league on Tuesday.

Six Robeson County players garnered first-team all-conference honors, while 2A state champion Whiteville took home the Player and Coach of the Year awards.

Fairmont’s Randy Floyd and Seth Thorndyke were selected to the first team, while Marcus Ransom, Michael Richardson and Mason Locklear were given honorable mentions. This is the second straight appearance on the first team for Thorndyke and Floyd, and is Thorndyke’s third time being named all-conference.

Thorndyke batted .561 and had 26 RBIs. Floyd earned eight pitching victories with a 1.12 ERA, along with batting .471.

For Red Springs, Darren Bowen and Gabriel Locklear were named first-team all-conference, while Jaylen Mack, Jayshawn Carthen and Colton Locklear were honorable mentions.

Locklear led the team with a .434 batting average and 17 RBIs, and Bowen won eight games on the mound with a 1.35 ERA with a .304 batting average.

Aaron Revels was St. Pauls’ lone honoree for first team, and Caleb Henderson and Erickson Emmanuel were named honorable mention.

South Robeson’s Quentin Hunt was awarded first-team all-conference honors to go along with Zack Carter and Cody Scott picking up honorable mentions.

Whiteville’s Brooks Baldwin was named the conference’s Player of the Year and Brett Harwood was tabbed Coach of the Year.

2018 Three Rivers Conference

All-Conference baseball team

Player of Year

Brooks Baldwin, Whiteville

Coach of Year

Brett Harwood, Whiteville


Brooks Baldwin

Jake Harwood

Dylan Hamilton

Lincoln Ransom

Honorable mention

Will Hinson

Dylan Lawson

Logan Hooks

Earl Grubbs

Jake Inman

West Columbus

Cody Benton

Cole Benton

Jagger Haynes

Honorable mention

Nigel Ceesay

Shawn Tyson

Jerry Locklear Jr.

Timothy Soles


Seth Thorndyke

Randy Floyd

Honorable mention

Marcus Ransom

Michael Richardson

Mason Locklear

Red Springs

Darren Bowen

Gabriel Locklear

Honorable mention

Jaylen Mack

Jayshawn Carthen

Colton Locklear

South Columbus

Miller Gore

Kannon White

Honorable mention

Robby Spencer

Jamie Harrelson

Austin Long

East Bladen

Sincere Smith

Greyson Heustess

Honorable mention

Gabe Barber

Xavier Wooten

Shy Pone

St. Pauls

Aaron Revels

Honorable mention

Caleb Henderson

Erickson Emmanuel

East Columbus

Kenji Bowen

Honorable mention

Garrett Jacobs

Alex Ellis

West Bladen

Scott Bowen

Honorable mention

Logan West

Dawson Bryan

South Robeson

Quentin Hunt

Honorable mention

Cody Scott

Zack Carter

Staff report