From the Fringe

By: Staff report

Thompson wins the Fairmont GC Championship

Dylan Thompson won his third Fairmont Golf Club Championship title this past Sunday with a five-stroke victory over Bradley Hamilton.

Aaron Maynor won the low net for the championship flight. Bert Thomas was the winner of the first flight, with Ben Green coming in second and Tommy Davis winning low net. Ronnie Cox won the second flight, with Brian Davis taking second and David Rogers won low net. Kirk Hamilton won the Senior Division Club Championship with a two-stroke victory over Donald Arnette. David Morris won low net. Mike Gandley won the Senior first flight title, followed by Carey Pittman and Danny Glasscock took low net. Aaron Ostrander was the Senior second flight winner, with John Barnes taking second and Clifton Rich won low net.

Tommy Lowry and James Smith had a one-stroke victory over Atlas Warwick and Bob Antone in this week’s Fairmont senior shootout. Jim Rogers and Ted Williams won the second flight, with James Howard Locklear and Craig Lowry taking second. Lowry, Warwick and Mike Sellers were closest to the pin winners

The next Senior Shoot Out will be played this Tuesday at 8 a.m.

Elvin Mathews, Ellvin Mathews III, David Mathews and Wayne Beasley were the winners of the Thursday evening scramble. They had a two-stroke victory over the team of Allen Oliver, Shane Fipps, Babe Lawson and Brian Haymore. Dickie Lewis, Kelly Lowry, Chuck Smith and Roger Locklear won the second flight, with Ken Spangler, Aaron Ostrander and Jasper Jackson coming in second. Wayne Hardwick and Kenny Bailey were closest to the pin winners.

The next Thursday evening scramble will be Aug. 2 at 6pm.

Top rounds posted this week include: Dylan Thompson 67; Bradley Hamilton 71; Bob Capps 72; Eddie Butler 72; Aaron Maynor 73; Kevin Davis 73; Kirk Hamilton 73; Rick Rogers 73; Aaron Ostrander 74; Donald Arnette 74; Mike Gandley 74; Jerry Stubbs 74; Wayne Callahan 74; Clifton Rich 76. Ostrander’s round was his career-best.

Thorndyke, Haskins take Pinecrest shootout

Knocky Thorndyke and John Haskins won the Pinecrest senior shootout this week.

They defeated Mike Sellers and Bobby Benton. Dave Locklear and Jerry Long were the first flight winners over Gene Harrion and Jim Rogers.

Thorndyke and Locklear were the closest to the flag winners.

The next Pinecrest senior shootout will be on Thursday at 8 a.m.

Clifford Bullard tournament scheduled

The 34th annual Clifford Bullard Memorial golf tournament at Pinecrest Country Club will be Sept. 27.

It will be a 1 p.m. shotgun start, with a rain date set for Oct. 4.

For more information, contact Rebekah Lowry at 910-272-3235.

Staff report

Submit golf news to Jonathan Bym at [email protected]

Submit golf news to Jonathan Bym at [email protected]